Mom’s Top Ten Read Aloud Books

Just for fun I thought I’d start with something (a book, of course!) That really had an impact on my life as a mother.

You are fully aware, those of you who have kids or grandchildren, how important ‘everyone’ says it is to read aloud to your young ones, beginning while they are still babies. I fell in line with all this because it made perfect sense to me as a young mother, and then, later (in my 30s) when I started having children again. It made sense because I was a ‘book person,’ and had been since being old enough to read on my own. Once I had a book in my hands it seems like I had found the thing that made me happiest in my life (this, of course, is another story we can come back to some other time).

So I read to my kids. I found lots of good books, some of which are quite old and some new. I will recommend these titles to any and all who are interested in such things. They all have unique stories, creative art, and are, best of all – fun to read! These are the books I have read so many times to my own babies and other people’s; books I and my kids have loved, and millions of other people have loved. Here they are in no particular order.
TOP TEN BOOKS TO READ TO BABIES AND YOUNG ONES

go-dog-go-cvr Go, Dog, Go!/P.D. Eastman

goodnight-moon-cvr Goodnight Moon/Margaret Wise Brown

give-a-mouse-a-cookie-cvr Give A Mouse A Cookie/Laura Joffe Numeroff and Felicia Bond

brown-bear-cvr Brown Bear Brown Bear What Do You See?/Bill Martin Jr & Eric Carle

bear snores on cvr.jpg Bear Snores On/Karma Wilson & Jane Chapman

green-eggs-and-ham-cvr Green Eggs & Ham/Dr. Seuss

big-red-barn-cvr Big Red Barn/Margaret Wise Brown & Felicia Bond

guess-how-much-i-love-you Guess How Much I Love You/Sam McBratney & Anita Jeram

frog-and-toad-cvr Frog & Toad stories/Arnold Lobel

mouse-soup-cvr Mouse Soup/Arnold Lobel
Hope my list was useful for you!

dr-suess-quote

Leave a Reply

